Frequentley Asked Questions (FAQ)

  1. Go to your MyIRES and log into your account.
  2. On the homepage, select Certificates (third row from the bottom).

Nine Simple Steps

  • Step 01 – Meet the minimum requirements | Must be 18 years of age and submit background check requirements to the Iowa Professional Licensing Bureau (PLB)
  • Step 02 – Complete the 60-hour Pre-License course | This asynchronous/self-paced class contains pertinent information for the examination. 
  • Step 03* – Register for the Salesperson Exam | Register and take the exam at a PSI Examination Site
    • Don’t forget to attend our Exam Preparation classes
    • *Can be done simultaneously with Step 2.
  • Step 04 – Yay! You passed the Salesperson Exam.
  • Step 05 – Take three, required classes | Complete the classes Buying, Listing, and Developing Professionalism & Ethical practices.
  • Step 06 – Select a real estate brokerage.
  • Step 07 – Obtain Errors & Omissions Insurance | Professional liability insurance for the State of Iowa.
  • Step 08 – Submit your application | Complete the required application and provide the proper documentation to the Iowa Professional Licensing Bureau (PLB).
  • Step 09 – Build Your Real Estate Empire.

Iowa Real Estate Commission (IREC) requires the following hours must be done within the three years (prior to December 31) of a renewal cycle. For specific rules and regulations visit the State of Iowa Professional Licensing Bureau (PLB): Real Estate division website.

  • 24 hours of continuing education (12 hours must be take via live instruction)
  • 8 hours Law Update
  • 4 hours Ethics

Refund Policy for Iowa Real Estate School Credit Classes (Hybrid, In-Person, Virtual)

Students who officially withdraw from credit classes within the withdrawal deadline (24 hours prior to the course start date) will be refunded 100% on the same method of payment they used to enroll.

Iowa Real Estate School Credit Class Cancellation Procedure

  • Access your MyIRES Account (via or course confirmation email).
  • Select My Account
  • Locate Current Registrations
  • Under the registration list, find the class you wish to cancel.
    Select Cancel
  • Finalize your cancellation by selecting the Cancel Registration button.

Refund Policy for Partnership Credit Classes (Online, Asynchronous)

Students can withdraw from courses (60-Hour, Online Only) that are in partnership/collaboration with the Iowa Real Estate School and affiliate, Dearborn Real Estate Education/Re:Campus, if and only if, the course has not been initiated/started. A request for cancellation/refund must be completed within 30 days of purchase.

Partnership Credit Class Cancellation Procedure

  • Provide written notice via email to

Note: Deadlines that fall on a weekend or a school holiday will advance to the next workday. Calendar days include weekdays and weekends. Never attending is not an allowable refund exemption or an excuse for the debt incurred through registration.

6 months from the date the class is purchased in RECampus.

While we recommend taking the same class as many times as you would like, you can only receive credit once during your three-year renewal period.

Specifically noted, during each three-year renewal period a course may be taken for credit only once.  A course may be repeated for credit ONLY if the course numbers and instructors are different.There are no carryover hours for completed continuing education and to renew to active status, all continuing education must be done no later than the December 31st of the year of the renewal and prior to submission of the renewal application. 

Unfortunately, the answer to this question can only be provided by the Iowa Real Estate Commission (IREC) as each situation is circumstantial. Our suggestion is to contact a State licensing specialist at 515-725-9027 to see if reciprocity rules would apply to your situation.

Yes! The courses may be taken in any order and only the 60-hour pre-license course completion is required to take the salesperson exam.

There are four: 60 Hour Pre-License, Listing Practices, Buying Practices & Developing Professionalism/Ethics.

The 60 Hour Pre-License course can be done as a live course or an online/self-study course. The other three courses (12 hours each) must be done as a live course. Sign up for your classes with the Iowa Real Estate School today! 

Currently, we do not offer “New Broker Pre-License Courses” and suggest reaching out the State of Iowa’s Real Estate Licensing division for more information on certified schools and coursework.

What people are saying...